Muffet McGraw

Class of 2011

  • As head coach of Notre Dame, she led the Irish to the 2001 NCAA Division I National Championship
  • Named the 2001 Naismith, Associated Press, WBCA and US Basketball Writers Assocation National Coach of the Year
  • The 2009 Carol Eckman Award Recipient
  • Led Notre Dame to three Final Fours (1997, 2001, 2011), nine Sweet Sixteen appearances and 21 seasons with 20-or-more victories
  • Taken Notre Dame to NCAA Tournament 18 times, including a current string of 16 consecutive NCAA appearances (1996-2011)
  • She was a member of the USA Basketball Women’s Collegiate Committee and is currently the Division I Legislative Chair for the WBCA’s Board of Directors
  • She ranks among the top 20 active NCAA Division I coaches with 644 career wins, reaching the 600-win milestone in 2010
  • She has guided Notre Dame to 197 appearances in the Associated Press Top 25 poll (As of the end of the 2009-2010 season)
  • A four year starter at St. Joseph’s University, she was the captain of the 1976-77 team, which finished with a 23-5 record and was ranked third nationally