Christine Grant

Class of 2017

  • Grant became the first women’s athletic director at the University of Iowa • From 1973-2000, she was the Director of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women at the University of Iowa, which included 12 NCAA championship sports than won a combined 27 Big Ten conference titles
  • In 1992, she was named the National Administrator of the Year by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association
  • In 1970, she was given the Ontario Sports Award for Outstanding Contributions to Canadian Amateur Sport
  • In 1998, Grant was awarded the NCAA Honda Award of Merit
  • In 2006, she was inducted into the University of Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame
  • She was inducted into the NACDA Hall of Fame in 2008
  • Grant became a Member of the Board of Directors of the USA Field Hockey Foundation
  • She is a founding member of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW)